糖尿病、神经退行性疾病、肾功能失调

疾病替代疗法

糖尿病干细胞治疗

糖尿病是一種代谢性疾病,一般出现于身体无法调整血糖的患者。当体内的体内的血糖值上升时,胰岛素将被β細胞所产生。糖尿病有两个主要成因:胰脏无法生产足够的胰岛素,或者是细胞对胰岛素不敏感。这也造成患上其他疾病的风险,如心脏病、肾病、截肢、失明等。

糖尿病的类型

  1. 1型糖尿病是人体免疫系统对抗和破坏β细胞的结果,它通常始于生命的早期阶段,占糖尿病总数的10%。这种类型的人必须每天服用胰岛素注射才能生存。
  2. 2型糖尿病导致β细胞功能下降和胰岛素抵抗增加;这种类型与遗传因素和肥胖症有关,因此这种类型可以通过健康的生活方式来预防。
  3. 另一种影响孕妇的糖尿病称为妊娠糖尿病,其中胎盘释放的荷尔蒙维持妊娠,使孕妇的细胞对胰岛素更具抗性。一旦胰腺无法克服阻力,患者就会患上糖尿病。

什么导致糖尿病?

目前还不清楚为什么人体免疫系统会与β细胞发生作用并导致1型糖尿病。据推测,这可能是由遗传易感性和某些环境因素造成的,但这种情况发生的原因目前无法完全理解。

当细胞抵抗胰岛素作用,并且产生的胰岛素不足以克服这种抗性时,2型糖尿病即会发生,这种抗性背后的原因也是未知的,但强烈认为肥胖与这种类型的糖尿病直接相关。

干细胞糖尿病治疗

近年来,医学界对于治疗糖尿病有着不同的尝试,如β細胞移植手术、β細胞复制、降低β細胞坏死率以及从其他细胞中获取β細胞。90年代,华盛顿大学医药中心宣布成功从将β細胞从捐献者身上移植到一名1型糖尿病患者。于20世纪末时,许多不同的移植手术发现间中充满了挑战,如缺乏适合的捐献者、需利用免疫抑制的药物来避免超敏反应。

有鉴于此,干细胞技术作为可行的治疗方案变得更为重要。

原则上,当干细胞用于1型糖尿病治疗时,干细胞将在实验室被制成β細胞,在被注入患者体内以修复受损的组织,并帮助保持β細胞的数量。

这是有益的治疗,然而破坏性细胞仍然会存在,并对抗新细胞。理论上,通过替换失败的β细胞,可以使用相同的疗法来治疗2型糖尿病患者。

此时,糖尿病干细胞治疗缓解了患者的病情和症状,改善了他们的整体生活质量,虽然此项疗程尚未被认为能完全治愈糖尿病。

干细胞治疗效果

  • 空腹血糖及血红蛋白A1C明显下降
  • 甘油三酯明显减少
  • 肾脏功能改善及肌酐值下降
其他好处包括:
  1. 提高体力活动的能力
  2. 随着能量水平的提高,活力增加
  3. 降低并发症的风险
  4. 神经病变(麻木)
  5. 瘙痒症丧失(皮肤发痒)
  6. 夜尿症的消失(不得不从睡眠中起床到小便)
  7. 性欲增强

神经科学治疗

干细胞具有在我们的系统中发展成各种细胞类型的能力。他们可以补充其他细胞,只要干细胞能在没有任何限制下不断分裂和作为身体的修复系统功能。一旦任何干细胞分裂,每一个新的细胞可以停留为干细胞或变成另一种具有更多特定功能的细胞类型,如脑细胞或肌细胞。

干细胞可能是病患自身的细胞或捐献者的细胞。在使用病患自身的干细胞时,通常在放疗或化疗之前收集干细胞,因为干细胞可能会受到这些治疗的损害。一旦治疗结束,这些细胞被注入系统。

阿尔茨海默氏病

阿尔茨海默病是最典型的老年痴呆症。受此情况影响的病患将有记忆丧失的迹象,甚至在对话中难以找到正确的用词。随着时间的推移,情绪波动或混乱等迹象可能会逐渐变得严重。我们对这个特殊情况的确切原因还不确定。然而,研究人员发现,受此病影响的人倾向于在大脑中具有特定蛋白质的异常累积。

最终,“斑块”由称为β淀粉样蛋白的蛋白之一形成。从脂肪组织分离的MSC(间充质干细胞),ASCs(脂肪源性干细胞)被称为具有免疫调节属性的多种组织的能力,就像其他来源的MSC一样。阿尔茨海默病患者的神经系统治疗取决于患者的具体需求和要求。

帕金森病

帕金森病的主要起因是在我们的大脑中被称为神经元的神经细胞死亡及无法正常运作。这些神经元受到我们大脑特定区域中被称为黑质的疾病的影响。一种被称为多巴胺的化学物质是由这些垂死的神经元中产生的,这些神经元将信息传递到我们大脑的控制协调和运动的部分。最终,随着疾病的进展,这种化学物质的产生在我们的大脑中减少,因此患者不能控制其动作。
目前干细胞治疗已被认为是针对这些神经元做治疗,这将有助于创造新的神经元,可以产生多巴胺。除此之外,干细胞可释放天然化学物质的细胞因子,并且可以将干细胞分化成将产生多巴胺的神经元。此帕金森病患者的神经系统治疗方法将因患者的具体需求而异。

间充质干细胞如何帮助治疗?

干细胞具有增殖和分化成多种细胞谱系的能力。有不同的干细胞分类,反映了它们可能产生的细胞类型的范围和干细胞来源的方式。

阿尔茨海默氏病的目前治疗选择集中于调节神经递质活性。增强胆碱能功能改善阿尔茨海默氏病患者的行为和认知缺陷。在使用干细胞疗法中,可以使靶向胆碱能系统达到环境富集。随着年龄的增长,海马区神经减少,使得阿尔茨海默氏病加剧;因此,增强神经发生或代替丢失的神经元的细胞疗法也可能延缓阿尔茨海默氏病的进展。随着年龄和阿尔茨海默氏病的增加,脑源性神经营养因子水平将大大减少。因此,增强脑源性神经营养因子水平可促进神经发生,并保护神经元功能。

治疗帕金森病患者的方法注重于丢失的多巴胺神经元的替换。 治疗帕金森病的初始细胞疗法利用胎儿腹侧中脑组织作为多巴胺神经元的来源。在胎儿中脑组织的细胞内移植后,对富含分裂后多巴胺能神经元的治疗帕金森病患者的研究提供了神经元替代可在人脑中起作用的原理的证据。尽管持续的疾病过程会破坏患者自身的多巴胺能神经元,但移植的神经元存活能使纹状体恢复长达10年。

DIABETES, NEURODEGENERATIVE DISEASES, KIDNEY DISORDER

Other Diseases

DIABETES STEM CELL THERAPY

Diabetes is a medical condition that occurs when the body is unable to regulate the sugar concentration in the blood; the concentration is regulated by insulin which is triggered by b-cells when there is an increase in blood glucose.

When patients suffer from diabetes, their b-cells are dysfunctional or are just not producing enough insulin. Diabetes is the number six leading cause of death in the US alone. It is linked to several medical conditions and increases the risk for diseases like heart disease, kidney disease, amputations, blindness and more.

TYPES OF DIABETES

  1. Type 1 Diabetes is the result of a person’s immune system fighting and destroying the b-cells, it usually begins in the early stages of life and accounts for 10% of the total cases of diabetes. People with this type have to take insulin shots daily in order to survive.
  2. Type 2 Diabetes results from b-cell performance decline and an increase in insulin resistance; this type is linked with genetic factors and obesity, hence this type can be prevented by living a healthy lifestyle.
  3. There is another type of diabetes that affects pregnant women, it is called Gestational Diabetes where the hormones released by the placenta to sustain the pregnancy, make the pregnant woman’s cells more resistant to insulin. Once the pancreas is unable to overcome the resistance, the patient develops diabetes.

WHAT CAUSES DIABETES?

It is not known exactly why the body immune system fights the b-cells and it causes Type 1 diabetes. It´s assumed that this could have been caused by genetic vulnerability and certain environmental factors but there is no absolute clear reason why this happens.

Type 2 diabetes occurs when the cells resist insulin action and the insulin produced is not enough to overcome this resistance, the reason behind this resistance is also unknown but it is strongly assumed that obesity is directly linked to this type of diabetes. Risk factors for diabetes Type 1.

DIABETES STEM CELL THERAPY

Over the years, there have been attempts to cure diabetes by using methods like replacing b-cells through transplants, by increasing b-cell replication, by reducing the death of b-cells and by deriving new b-cells from other cells.

In the early 90’s, Washington University Medical Center reported the success of the first transplant of the pancreatic islet tissue from a donor in a person ailing from Type 1 diabetes. By the end of the twentieth century, many other transplants using different processes had been reported but there were challenges like the lack of appropriate donor tissue and use of immune-suppressive drugs to prevent rejection of the transplant.

With these challenges, the exploration of stem cells as a viable therapy became more intense.

Theoretically, stem cells can be used to treat Type 1 diabetes by inducing them to be b-cells in the lab, and then introducing them to the body where they would repair the damaged tissue and help maintain enough b-cell mass.

This therapy would be beneficial; however destructive cells would still be present to fight the new cells. In theory, the same therapy can be used to treat patients with Type 2 diabetes by replacing the failing b-cells.

At this point, diabetes stem cell therapy alleviates the conditions and symptoms for patients, improving their overall quality of life, though it is not yet considered a complete cure to this disease.

RESULTS ACHIEVED WITH STEM CELL THERAPY

  • Significant decrease in fasting blood sugars and the level of Hemoglobin A1C
  • Significant decrease in Triglyceride levels
  • Measurable improvement in kidney function with a decrease in creatinine levels
Additional benefits include:
  1. An improved capacity for physical activities
  2. An increased feeling of vitality with improved energy levels
  3. A reduced risk of complications
  4. Loss of neuropathy (numbness)
  5. Loss of pruritus (itchy skin)
  6. Loss of Nocturia (having to wake up from sleep to urinate)
  7. An increased libido

NEUROLOGICAL THERAPY

Stem cells are endowed with the capability of developing into various cell types in our system. They can replenish the other cells so long as the individual lives by dividing without any limit and functioning as the body’s repair system. Once any stem cell divides, every new cell can either stay as a stem cell or turn into another cell type having a more specific functionality like a brain cell or a muscle cell.

It is possible for the stem cells to be the individual’s own cells or that of a donor. While using the own stem cells of an individual, they are usually collected prior to radiation therapy or chemotherapy since stem cells can get damaged by these therapy. Once the therapy is over, these cells are injected back into the system.

ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE

The most typical cause of dementia happens to be Alzheimer’s disease. An individual affected by this condition will show indications of loss of memory or even struggling to find the correct words. With the passage of time, indications such as the mood swings or confusion can develop which can become progressively severe. We are still not certain regarding the exact cause of this particular condition; however, it has been found by researchers that people affected by this condition tend to have an abnormal buildup of particular proteins in the brain.

Eventually “plaques” are formed by one of those proteins known as amyloid beta. MSCs (mesenchymal stem cells), ASCs (Adipose-derived stem cells) separated from adipose tissue, are reputed for their ability to differentiate into multiple tissues having immune modulatory attributes just like that of MSCs from some other origin. Neurological therapy for Alzheimer´s disease patients vary depending on the patient´s specific needs and requirements.

PARKINSON'S DISEASE

Parkinson’s disease (PD) indicates the malfunction as well as the death of the nerve cells in our brain which are known as neurons. These neurons are affected by the ailment in a particular region of our brain which is referred to as the substantia nigra. A chemical substance known as dopamine is produced by several of these dying neurons which transmit messages to the part of our brain which controls coordination as well as movement. Eventually, the production of this chemical decreases in our brain as the disease progresses and consequently the individual is not able to control his or her movements.

At present stem cell therapy has been considered for targeting these neurons which will assist in the creation of fresh neurons that can produce dopamine. On top of this, it is possible for the stem cells to release cytokines which happen to be natural chemicals and which can bring about differentiation of the stem cells into neurons which will produce dopamine. Neurological therapy for Parkinson´s disease patients vary depending on the patient´s specific needs and requirements.

HOW MSCS HELPS?

Stem cells have the capacity to proliferate and differentiate into multiple cellular lineages. There are different classifications of stem cells that reflect the range of possible cell types they can produce and the ways in which the stem cells are derived.

Current therapy options for AD are centered on regulating neurotransmitter activity. Enhancing cholinergic function improves AD behavioral and cognitive defects. Targeting the cholinergic system using stem cell therapies may provide environmental enrichment. Neurogenesis in the hippocampus decreases as we age and is exacerbated in AD; therefore, cellular therapies that enhance neurogenesis or replace lost neurons may also delay the progression of AD. Enhancing BDNF levels, which are decreased with age and in AD, promotes neurogenesis and protects neuronal function.

Cellular approaches for PD focus on the replacement of lost DA neurons. Initial cellular therapies for PD utilized fetal ventral midbrain tissue as a source of DA neurons. Clinical trials have had varying degrees of success, but they supported cellular therapies for a potential functional benefit in PD.   Studies in patients with PD after intrastriatal transplantation of human fetal mesencephalic tissue, rich in postmitotic dopaminergic neurons, have provided proof of principle that neuronal replacement can work in the human brain. The grafted neurons survive and reinnervate the striatum for as long as 10 years despite an ongoing disease process, which destroys the patient’s own dopaminergic neurons.